The breastfeed trivia

Fatin aka kopi gave me a message on fb yesterday asking me to give some support to her cousin on breastfeed issue.

I went to her blog, and drop a few lines (a few??) and when i am done, i think, why don’t i just share with other mothers out there.

So here you go.

hi qahina, this is wawa. fatin dropped a message in my fb abt your breastfeeding challenge, asking me to support you.

i am not a certified lactation consultant but i ‘ve been bf-ing my son (3 yrs now) and my 1 1/2 yrs daughter. So i guess i can share some experiences.

breastfeeding is tiring and exhausting and sometimes i will just drain all you energy thus led to demotivation. However, i believe, a mother has to be determine to breastfeed in order to make it work. Of course support from dear husband and families will HELP a lot.

Aisyah is still small (1 months plus, am i right?), thus she doesn’t really need that much milk. She might look like hungry and wanna be breastfeed all the time, but believe me, most of the time she is just using you as her source of comfort and your tits as pacifier.

🙂

It’s hard to establish the breastfeeding techniques but once you’ve got the hang of it, you’ll be ok.

If possible, never keep formula in your house because once you know you have formula to topup ur breastmilk, you’ll sort of teaching your mind that ‘it’s Ok if i don’t produce extra bf’ and that will finally reduce your milk production. Like people say, it is all in your mind.

🙂

1 1/2 oz for every pumping session is OK. I’ve experienced getting only few drops and that was sure very frustrating.

try double pumping, meaning pump both breasts simultaneously. Maybe you can pump the free breast while the feeding the other one. And try pumping immediately after you have breastfeed aisyah. My point is to have your breasts emptied, so that body thinks that it will need to produce more.

The amount of time your baby is feeding doesn’t indicate that you have lots of milk or otherwise. As i’ve written, she might be using you as her pacifier.

And no leaking or no engorgement doesn’t means that you don’t have enough milk. It just means that your body has adjusted the production. That’s why you’ll need to teach your body again so that it will produce more.

as mommylyssa said, u can combine the 1 1/2 oz milk that you pumped from previous session and store them. Just make sure that when you add the milk from different sessions, the temperature must be the same.

You dont have to store like 8 oz per liner. What i used to do was to store 2 oz or 3 oz per liner, just enough for one feeding.

Maybe try using a good breastpump would help. I am not sure which pump u are using, but investing on good ones will help you produce more. I’ve seen some friends who bought new pumps although they’ve already own one (or two). Medela swing, freestyle are some of the good ones. Btw, i just use spectra 3 because it fits me perfectly. I do have a medela harmony too. So i use them case on case basis.

🙂

🙂

Qahina, all in all, it is all in your mind. Eat well, eat well, eat well, don’t stress yourself, and follow your instincts.

There was once when i lost all my milk supplies because my fridge door wasn’t closed properly and i had to start from scratch.

There are also few friends who were almost gave up, but they managed anyway because they were determine to make it work.

Most importantly, get some support especially from those near you.

There are a lot of other breastfeed mother out there that are willingly to reach out for you anytime.

🙂

I wish you good luck.

I wish all mothers good luck on giving the best to your kids.

🙂

5 thoughts on “The breastfeed trivia

  1. wowwww.. no wonder ramai yang give up.. including my sister.. it aint that easy rupanya.. ingatkan if baby nak susu sumbat jek la..

  2. Am going tru the bfeeding journey cycle for the 2nd time. dengan the first child dulu didn't work because of so many silly reasons, mainly because kurang kesedaran. but now, i am determined to do it right.your entry mmg byk point yg betul.zaimah

  3. hi wawa, i'm so grateful you wrote. Thanks. Now I feel better about myself and more determined to breastfeed exclusively, provided my milk supply goes well. Yes, ur right, my baby seems to 'manja terlebih' sometimes and use my nipples as pacifier which gives me sleepless nights because her demand is frequent but duration is short. My SIL suggested water so I fed her that but she hates it. My mom suggested pacifier but ', afraid it would induce gas in her. But I'm trying, trying and trying. Will follow your updates ok. Love.

  4. zaimah, i didn;t succeeed bf-ing my 1st son too. by choice sbb time tu mmg pandang rendah dgn org yg bf.konon tak sesuai dgn saya yg bekerjaya.i regret the decision i made.hhi qahina, do update ok.but if u hv tried and did not succeed, no worry. :)no one will be blaming you, no one should.;)

Leave a Reply

